Ashtanga Yoga

is a style of yoga that was taught to Sri K Pattabhi Jois (Guruji) by his teacher Sri T. Krishnamacharya. Guruji's grandson, R. Sharath Jois is now the director and guide at the KPJAYI center in Mysore, India. Ashtanga translates to, eight-limbs:

Yama [moral codes]
Niyama [self-purification and study]
Asana [posture]
Pranayama [breath control]
Pratyahara [sense control]
Dharana [concentration]
Dhyana [meditation]
Samadhi [absorption into the Universal]

The first four limbs deal with an external practice, however it is not possible to simply practice one limb at a time. The remaining four limbs are an internal practice that bring the mind under control when one has addressed the external.


Mysore Style Ashtanga Yoga

involves a series of postures (asana) linking breath with movement. Ashtanga yoga can be practiced by anyone; sick, young, old, very old, healthy. Each person is taught individually in a manor that is appropriate for their situation in life. All students begin taking practice the same way. Students learn asana's one at a time.  A new asana is added to the practice when a student has correctly learned the previous teaching.